walkitout: (Default)
[personal profile] walkitout
Cabin crew was deeply suspicious of A.’s cough, which was wildly aggravated by anxiety in the leadup to takeoff. Once we were in the air, it settled down. I’m not buying her any more plane tickets until we talk this thing through. On the way to Florida, it was hand washing. And now this. Ugh. It was looking like they were going to ask us to get off the plane; they did offer that. No way in hell was I taking them up on that offer, and after what happened later on in Laguardia with a late, sickness related aborted takeoff, I feel weirdly justified. Mostly, I just didn’t want to figure out hotel and all for however long we were going to be stuck in Florida being sick.

Of course I was also sick by this point, but much more quietly.

Flight was uneventful. I listened to the new Harry Styles album repetitively. R. and I had seats next to each other on the 2 side of a 2 and 3, and A. had the aisle seat across from me. Really the perfect configuration, IMO. A. and I had matching aisle seats flying down, which was also nice. The only issue is the anxiety is relieved by hand holding, and there’s that flurry of cabin crew activity before takeoff and you can’t block the aisle with your hands.

I retrieved my car with no issue, and was driving home (possibly a mistake). I still hadn’t gotten new tires (definitely a mistake) and it was raining and the visibility was not awesome (are you sensing that something is about to happen?) altho it was still daylight when we were coming home. I hit a monster pothole on 93N between exits 21 and 22, about 1.2 miles before my exit. Total blowout. *sigh* I got into the breakdown lane (impressive, as I was not in the right hand lane) (and there was a breakdown lane, by no means guaranteed in Massachusetts). There were other cars ahead of me pulled over with blinkers on. I think the pothole got a bunch of us.

I called BMW roadside, and it took forever to get to a human, who made a big deal of getting my number in case the call was dropped. Call was dropped. They did not call back. On to AAA I guess. (It’s possible that call screening did me in here; I didn’t think to turn it off until the next morning.)

AAA phone tree sent me to a website which said they cannot transport more than 2 people. How is that going to work? *sigh*

By this time, I’d seen multiple flat beds drive past me, so I googled, called Stephens (10/10, would recommend) and while they overshot me the first time, they picked us up the second time. They had a solution for the 3 people in the car situation, which was all I really needed. They stored the car overnight in their lot to flatbed it to my usual service location the next day. We walked over to a Dunkin, used the loo, bought a muffin and apple juice for A., and got an Uber home, who I tipped heavily. I am also glad he was wearing a mask, because I’d feel bad if we got him sick.

Not fun.

R. was very helpful, and got my sourdough out of the freezer for me.

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 2425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:18 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios